Here’s Frankie making eyes and and smiling at his pretty caregivers! He was so funny that day, just giggling and flirting with every female he saw ๐Ÿ˜œ. They would walk towards him and he would smile and mumble “ohhhh”, with no hesitation to kiss them on the cheek if they hugged him!!๐Ÿ˜˜

He is generally pretty content most days, but that one day, he seemed so happy to see everyone!! It was a grand time to see him that way.

He had a nice visit with one of his high school friends, Audrey, last week. I do believe there was some recognition of her, as he smiled when he saw her. There is a big reunion coming up for John Adams High School and quite a few of his athlete buddies will be meeting up the night before. I won’t take him to the luncheon, but I think I will take him to the smaller gathering, so it won’t be so overwhelming for him. Hopefully he will enjoy that and he recognizes some of the guys. He is very close to the weight he was in high school!๐Ÿ˜ณ. Little skinny Minnie!!

His buddy, Danny, continues to come every week and we take Frankie to lunch at First Watch! It makes for a nice visit as the people there always remember us and take good care of our time there, very accommodating. Some weeks, Frankie seems to understand how he is to get in the car, even though he still needs help and prompting, and other days, he has no clue what we are asking him to do! Guess it just comes with the territory!! But while we are there, he absolutely loves to people watch, especially the ladies ๐Ÿ˜‚. He so loves his cranberry juice each time we are there and eats every thing I feed him. Although, there are times when I say to open wide, and he purses his lips like he is ready to drink๐Ÿ˜œ. Or he will open his mouth, then shut it real quick and bite the fork, causing the food to drop! Most of the time, I catch it as I put my hand underneath, but there are those times I’m not quick enough!! Oh well, it’s not much worse than when toddlers are at a restaurant and leave an array of food on the floor when they leaveโ˜บ๏ธ

He took a little spill this week at the facility, but fortunately only scraped his arm a little. Ended up on his butt, and didn’t do a face plant!! Thankful for small miracles ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿป

On a little side note, I want to talk about how impactful a few simple words said to someone can linger a long time. My grandson, who is in second grade, is a very picky eater. His Mom works hard at creating very healthy muffins for him, disguised with chocolate chips to encourage him to eat them (filled with purรฉed veggies)! This year she found an even better recipe that he loves. Since I pack his lunch every morning, I wrapped 4 small muffins along with his fruit, etc., for him to eat. When he came home from school, I unpacked his lunch box and saw he didn’t eat his muffins. When I asked him why, he said he didn’t have time. So I said, how about you eat the muffins first, then your fruit and then your goodies! He started to cry. When I asked him why, he responded that the lunch lady told him that he can’t eat the muffins first, because they don’t look healthy!!๐Ÿ˜ณ. I was really upset! I asked him if she told him that on that day. He said “no, it was last year, and I don’t want to get in trouble!” I wiped his tears and told him I was sorry and didn’t realize that. I was furious. The lunch lady handled it the wrong way. She should have sent a note home to the parent. She didn’t know how healthy they were, she simply made a wrong assumption. Anyhow, the point I am making is that a simple statement made by her to a six year old, a year ago, has stayed with him every single school day at lunch time. That poor kid has worried about what was in his lunch every day. It explains why he would ask me what I packed!!

It’s just another reminder about what we say and how we say things. Choose your words carefully and think what those words will mean to the person hearing them!!

Okay, that’s my spiel for today๐Ÿ˜. Have a good one! Hard to believe it’s Labor Day weekend coming up! Have to plan a ride to downtown to try and catch those Blue Angels flying at the air show!!

Leave a comment